The Wiregrass Sports Hall of Fame was formed in January 1992 by Hawk-Houston Boys and Girls Club
as a means to seek ways to better honor past athletes, coaches and support personnel
who have achieved fame in the world of sports. These individuals must either call the Wiregrass home
or have lived here in the past. Recognition shall come at the annual Wiregrass Sports Hall of Fame Banquet
sponsored by the Wiregrass Hall of Fame, Inc., which was established as an incorporation in 2003.
Recognition shall also come through the public display of a picture plaque to be located
on the first floor of the Dothan Civic Center. To be eligible for induction into the
Wiregrass Sports Hall of Fame, the individual must meet the criteria established
by the Hall of Fame Selection Committee.


Wiregrass Sports Hall of Fame
29th Annual Induction Ceremony

Former Slocomb and NFL standouts Brad Baxter and Tony Bowick along with veteran coaches Floyd Griffin (Northview), Cindy Hawthorne (Brantley), Steve Helms (Lurleen B. Wallace Community College) and Bubba Johnson (Dothan and Northview) were announced as the inductees as the 29th annual hall of fame class.

The six will be inducted during a ceremony on Saturday, Aug. 12, at the Wiregrass Rehabilitation Center in Dothan. The ceremony is set for 7 p.m. Tickets are $60 and must be reserved in advanced by Aug. 7 by emailing WSHOF secretary Janna Everett Holland at jannaholland417@gmail.com.

Wiregrass Sports Hall of Fame Golf Tournament

No golf tournament for 2023 but look for it to return in the future. Thanks for your support!

Class of 2023


Brad Baxter
Tony Bowick
Floyd Griffin
Cindy Hawthorne
Steve Helms
Bubba Johnson


See all posts

Hall of Famers

Some of our current members

Doug Tew, Class of 2016
Kevin Jackson, Class of 2016
Sonny Raley, Class of 2015
Phillip Parker, Class of 2012
Robert Horry, Class of 2009
Johnny Oppert, Class of 2001

Want to nominate someone?


Selection Committee


Ralph Black
Tony Darrigan
Janna Everett Holland (Secretary-Treasurer)
Jim Golden
Jon Johnson (Vice-President)
Merrill Shirley
Amelia Rhoades (President)
Richard Robertson
Tom Vickers