Wiregrass Hall of Fame 2018

Four of the eight Wiregrass Sports of Hall of Fame inductees for 2018 pose for a photo Friday at a press conference announcing the inductees. The four are (left to right) are Chris Padget, Debbie Barnes, Steve Wade and Daniel Collier. Photo: KEN ROGERS / DOTHAN EAGLE


Champion athletes, champion coaches, champion people.

The Wiregrass Sports Hall of Fame class of 2018 enhances a standard of excellence long ago established by the selection committee. The 26th annual induction ceremony, scheduled for July 14 at the Wiregrass Rehabilitation Center in Dothan, features an eight-member class.

This year’s inductees are Debbie Barnes from Abbeville Christian, Daniel Collier of Carroll, Edward Fleming of Dothan, Gwen Jackson of Eufaula, Jerrel Jernigan of Eufaula, Chris Padget of Headland, Cedric Smith of Enterprise and Steve Wade of Dothan.

A common theme for four of the inductees who attended Friday’s introductory press conference was “humbled.”

Read the full story by Ken Rogers in the Dothan Eagle